Charles Bubb Medal

AEES has created an award to recognise individuals who have contributed to the field of earthquake engineering.


The inaugural award was presented to Dr. Kevin McCue by past president Hong Hao at the AEES conference in Lorne in November 2014.

Kevin has been serving AEES tirelessly and continuously since the inception of our society, enthusiastically promoting earthquake awareness to the Australian government and to the general public, and is actively involved in earthquake engineering activities around the world, for the sake of public safety.

The Charles Bubb Medal honours Mr. Charles Bubb, who graduated with a civil engineering degree from the University of Western Australia in 1950 and a postgraduate diploma on engineering seismology from Imperial College in 1970. He has had an outstanding professional career. He was appointed the chief structural engineer in 1977, and then Director of Engineering, of the Commonwealth Department of Works in 1979, the position he held until his retirement in 1987. Mr. Bubb is one of the primary drivers of Australian earthquake engineering research, in his role as the Chairman of the Australian National Committee for Earthquake Engineering from 1971 to 1976, and the inaugural president of the Australian Earthquake Engineering Society from 1990 to 1995. Mr. Charles Bubb made significant contributions to the 1979 version of Australian Earthquake Code and the Australian Wind Loading Standard.


Dr. Kevin McCue graduated as a Physicist at ANU, and then pursued a post grad MPhil in Engineering Seismology at London University. He has worked for the governments of Australia and Papua New Guinea as an engineering seismologist; for the private sector as a consultant on projects such as nuclear power stations in Switzerland and Iran, and dams in Australia and PNG; and was also a member of staff at Imperial College and University of Adelaide. He has been on the Standards Australia code committee for every version of the Australian Loading Code. Kevin set up the earthquake database for PNG, the first relational database for earthquakes, tsunamis and felt reports whilst at GA, and the first digital network of strong motion recorders.

He was a Senior Research Scientist in the Bureau of Mineral Resources (now Geoscience Australia) from 1985 to 2001. He is the director of the Australian Seismological Center since 2001. Dr Kevin McCue is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia and adjunct professor at Central Queensland University (CQU).

Together with Charles Bubb, Dr. Kevin McCue co-founded AEES and served in the first executive committee of the society as secretary from 1990 to 1995. Since then Kevin has continued to dedicate his time and energy to the society, holding various executive roles; such as president of the society from 2008 to 2010, and newsletter editor for many years.

For his work, reputation and contribution to our society, we believe that Dr. Kevin McCue is a most deserving recipient of the inaugural Charles Bubb Medal from the Australian Earthquake Engineering Society. His commitment and dedication to the society has not wavered since he co-founded the AEES with Charles Bubb himself in 1990.