Awards & Scholarships

Charles Bubb Postgraduate Scholarship applications are invited by 31 August 2022. Download the application guidelines and email your application to

Charles Bubb Postgraduate Scholarship

In memory of Charles Bubb, and made available due to the generous donation by Ken MacMillan, the Australian Earthquake Engineering Society has created a Postgraduate Student Scholarship in his name.

The scholarship aims to encourage young engineers, earthquake scientists and seismologists to become members of the AEES, to pursue a career in earthquake engineering and/or earthquake science, and to help contribute to advancing Australian earthquake monitoring and damage assessment.

The scholarship is open to Australian students of earthquake engineering or engineering seismology, to pursue post-graduate studies at approved universities leading to a Masters or PhD level qualification advancing the science and practice of earthquake engineering and engineering seismology. It will be awarded yearly where a suitable candidate exists.

Chosen projects should work towards leaving long-term support for the advancement of earthquake assessment in Australia, such as building monitoring and instrumentation, engineering, geophysical or geological studies or damage and vulnerability assessment.

The Charles Bubb scholarship includes:

  • A $10,000 stipend to conduct a 12-15 month research study aligned to their proposed field of study on earthquake-related research
  • Registration at the AEES conference for 3 consecutive years and part payment for travel and accommodation associated with attending the conference so that the postgraduate may profit from presenting their ongoing work and building a network within the Australian earthquake community (the candidate should present their study in the form of an AEES conference paper).
  • Additional support up to a value of $5,000 for equipment and/or support for travel of a mentor to locations can be applied for to the awards committee.
  • The award also includes a certificate that will be presented during the conference.

Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

2023Xiangzhe Weng
2020Catherine Peryer
2019Yiwei Hu (Full Grant), Chris Burton (Partial Grant), Bin Xing (Partial Grant)
2018Omar El-Hawat

Prior to the Charles Bubb Scholarship, AEES awarded research grants to the following individuals:

Earthquake Engineering Research Scholarships

2000Amy BrownImprovement of hazard analysis in the Strzelecki Ranges, South Gippsland by the identification of active faults
2000Jason ChaytorImaging and characterization of the fault responsible for the 1989 Newcastle earthquake
2002Kittipoom RodsinExperimental Testing of RC Soft-Storey Columns for Seismic Performance
2002Trevor AllenComparative Study of the Australian and New Zealand response spectrum attenuation functions
2002Darren AndrewsA seismic microzonation survey of the greater Hobart area
2003Dominic DowlingInvestigation of appropriate technologies to improve the seismic resistance of mudbrick buildings
2003Huang (Jack) YaoMoment Resisting Beam-Circular Column Connection with Blind Bolts and Extensions
2003Brzezniak et alAn improved model for regional earthquake risk assessment
2007Jonathan LiangSeismic Risk Analysis of Perth Metropolitan Area
2007Jaya KashyapSeismic Performance of Reinforced Concrete Frames
2008Maxime ClaproodUsing Microtremor Survey Method to Characterise Site Effects Across the Tamar Valley, Launceston, Tasmania
2009Hamid Reza TabatabaiefarDetermining Seismic Behaviour of Mid-Rise Building Frames Under Influence of Dynamic Soil-Structure Interaction
2009Lawrence AntonEarthquake hazard of Port Moresby
2010Siva SivanerupanIn-plane seismic performance of point fixed glass façade systems
2013Ryan Hoult

Charles Bubb Award

Kevin McCue – 2014 Charles Bubb Award winner

Prior to his passing, the AEES committee decided to honour founder Charles Bubb by striking a medal as an award to individuals who have made a significant contribution to earthquake engineering in Australia. A medal was presented to Charles himself, and was first awarded in 2014. The recipients to date have been:

2014 Kevin McCue
2017 Michael Griffith
2019 Hong Hao
2022 John Wilson