About AEES

AEES is a Technical Society of Engineers Australia. AEES was established after the 1989 Newcastle earthquake to promote the practice of earthquake engineering and engineering seismology. AEES is a not-for-profit organisation, ABN 83 410 367 830.

AEES was formally established in December 1990 and affiliated with IAEE and with the Institution of Engineers Australia as a professional society. The inaugural executive was Charles Bubb as President, Kevin McCue as Secretary, and David Rossiter as Treasurer. Prior to 1990, Professor Stan Shaw and then Charles Bubb were Australia’s delegates at IAEE conferences.

The AEES has an executive of volunteers who run the Society on a day to day basis and co-ordinate its activities. The President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer are appointed every three years at the Annual General Meeting, and ordinary members are appointed by the Executive Committee at the start of each year. The last election was held at Mt Macedon in November 2022.

President: Scott Menegon
Secretary: Adam Pascale
Treasurer: Dion Weatherley

Committee members (2024)
President-Elect: Dee Ninis
Immediate Past President: Trevor Allen
Ordinary Members: nominations opening soon

Secretariat: Liz Pascale
IAEE Representative: Hing-Ho Tsang
Webmaster: Adam Pascale

Past Presidents:
1990-1995 Charles Bubb, Canberra
1995-1998 Graham Hutchinson, Melbourne
1998-2001 Bill Boyce, Brisbane
2001-2004 Professor Mike Griffith, Adelaide
2004-2008 Professor John Wilson, Melbourne
2008-2010 Adjunct Professor Kevin McCue, CQU
2010-2013 Professor Hong Hao, Perth
2013-2016 Paul Somerville, Sydney
2016-2019 Peter McBean, Adelaide
2020-2022 Trevor Allen, Canberra

Life Members:
2007 Kevin McCue
2010 John Wilson
2010 Mike Griffith
2016 Paul Somerville
2018 Bill Boyce


This online Privacy Policy is provided to make you aware of how information is collected, used and managed as a result of visiting our website.

What Information is collected and how it’s used

Information regarding your visit to our website is collected and logged for statistical purposes, namely pages you view, duration of visits, links you click, files downloaded, and other actions. We also track certain standard information that your browser sends to every website you visit such as your IP address (browser type, language, access times) and referring website addresses.
Other than the above data, users or their browsing activities are not individually identified apart from, in the event of an investigation, where a law enforcement agency may exercise a warrant to inspect logs, or where AEES believes it is required to collect and produce relevant electronic documentation to fulfil its obligations to third parties, including statutory organisations under local law.